Tears flow as Morning Musume celebrates 16th birthday

17 September 2013 / 3 years 1 month ago

On September 14th, Morning Musume held their 16th anniversary event 'Watashitachi ga, Ima no Morning Musume desu. 17-nen mo, Saa, Ikouka.' at Bellesalle Shibuya Garden.

This day marked exactly 16 years since the group's name was announced on the broadcast of TV Tokyo's 'ASAYAN' (1997).

Leader Michishige Sayumi (24) expressed, "We were able to safely make 16 years thanks to everyone who always supports us." Morning Musume is currently comprised of 10 members: Michishige, Fukumura Mizuki (16), Ikuta Erina (16), Sayashi Riho (15), Suzuki Kanon (15), Iikubo Haruna (18), Ishida Ayumi (16), Sato Masaki (14), Kudo Haruka (13), and Oda Sakura (14).

After introducing themselves, they gave the appeal of the new era of Morning Musume by shouting in unison, "We are Morning Musume!" Michishige commented, "I've been a part of Morning Musume for 11 years and have experienced many things. I feel that we are here now because the members of each generation worked hard. I am thankful for the senpais of the successive generations."

Sub-leader Iikubo added, "We will do our best to entertain those who have loved Morning Musume from before and those who have recently grown to love us." There was also a voice message from producer Tsunku♂ announcing that he has added a concert on November 28th at Nippon Budokan to their upcoming tour that starts on the 21st.

In tears, Oda said, "I had a dream that our additional performance was Budokan!" Michishige set a goal saying, "We've only performed at Nippon Budokan when someone was graduating. So from now on, we want to do our best to have the tour finale at Nippon Budokan or Yokohama Arena."

Join in the talk