Look out for these exciting 9 new superhero films by Marvel

30 October 2014 / 1 year 12 months ago

Marvel unveiled plans on Tuesday for a slate of new superhero films, expanding its already wildly successful comic book universe - and breaking ground with its first solo black and female hero movies.

In a surprise announcement, the studio revealed there will be a new two-part Avengers sequel in 2018-2019 - on top of one already scheduled for next year to follow the record-breaking 2012 original.

It confirmed a release date for the sequel to the quirky summer smash Guardians Of The Galaxy, which is so far the top-grossing film of 2014, reports ST Communities.

And the studio named its first African-American solo lead actor - Chadwick Boseman, who will play the title role in Black Panther, due out in 2017.

"I'm blessed to be part of this Marvel Universe and I look forward to making magic together," Boseman told the crowd at an event at Hollywood's El Capitan Theatre, according to the industry press.

The 37-year-old is best known for playing groundbreaking baseball star Jackie Robinson in last year's biopic 42 and soul singer James Brown in this year's biopic Get On Up. His Black Panther will be introduced in Captain America: Civil War in 2016 before a solo outing the following year, Marvel said.

Casting was not revealed for Captain Marvel, the studio's first female superhero movie.

The studio also did not name the actor tapped to play Doctor Strange. British actor Benedict Cumberbatch has been widely rumored to be tipped for the role.

Here is a list of the nine Marvel movies announced on Tuesday, in order of release date:

- Captain America: Civil War - May 6, 2016

- Doctor Strange - Nov 4, 2016

- Guardians Of The Galaxy 2 - May 5, 2017

- Thor: Ragnarok - July 28, 2017

- Black Panther - Nov 3, 2017

- Avengers: Infinity War, Part 1 - May 4, 2018

- Captain Marvel - July 6, 2018

- Inhumans - Nov 2, 2018

- Avengers: Infinity War, Part 2 - May 3, 2019

Join in the talk