The Grandmaster wins big at the Asian Film Awards, Yeo Yann Yann scores award

28 March 2014 / 2 years 7 months ago

The 8th Asian Film Awards (AFA) award ceremony, dubbed the “Asian Oscars”, was held tonight at the House of Dancing Water Theatre in the City of Dreams, Macau. The 8th AFA was jointly organized by the AFA academy (AFAA) and its constituent partners – Busan Film Festival, Tokyo Film Festival and Hong Kong Film Festival.  

Yeo Yann Yann won the Best Supporting Actress title for her role in the film Ilo Ilo against other strong contenders. Yeo’s success at the 8th AFA adds to her already outstanding number of illustrious awards she has won for her role in the film.

“In modern life, when we encounter a lot of difficulties, our family members give us the biggest strength. So I hope you all can have this strength,” she said as she expressed her thanks, especially to her husband.

Singapore’s director Anthony Chen also scored a Best Director nomination with his story of a humble Singaporean family in his first feature film Ilo Ilo. This nomination bodes well for the future of Singaporean cinema in the international arena.

The Grandmaster walked away with the most awards this evening, bagging seven awards: Best Film, Best Director for Wong Kar Wai, Best Actress award for Zhang Ziyi, Best Production Designer and Costume Designer for William Chang Suk Ping, and Best Cinematographer for Phillipe Le Sourd.

In her speech, actress Zhang Ziyi spoke of one of the martial arts directors that was on the MH370, the missing Malaysian flight. Director Wong Kar Wai received the Best Film award on behalf of the crew and dedicated his speech to the missing director. He offered his deepest condolences and called on the Malaysian government for more transparency in clarifying the situation soon.

Amidst a standing ovation, Taiwanese actor Hou Hsiao Hsien received the top honour of Lifetime Achievement Award for his outstanding contribution to Asian cinema throughout his 30 year career. “I’m receiving this award because I am an old man,” he joked. He expressed that he is motivated to continue making new films.

List of winners:

Lifetime Achievement:

Hou Hsiao-Hsien

Best Film:

The Grandmaster

Best Director:

Wong Kar-wai, The Grandmaster

Best Actor:

Irrfan Khan, The Lunchbox

Best Actress:

Zhang Ziyi, The Grandmaster

Best Newcomer:

Jiang Shuying, So Young

Best Supporting Actor:

Huang Bo, No Man’s Land

Best supporting actress:

Yeo Yann Yann, Ilo Ilo

Best Screenwriter:

Ritesh Batra, The Lunchbox

Best Cinematographer:

Philippe Le Sourd, The Grandmaster

Best Production Designer:

William Chang Suk Ping, Alfred Yau Wai Ming, The Grandmaster

Best Composer:

Nathaniel Mechaly, Umebayashi Shigeru, The Grandmaster

Best Editor:

Shin Min-kyung, Cold Eyes

Best Visual Effects:

Jung Sung-jin, Mr Go

Best Costume designer:

William Chang Suk Ping, The Grandmaster

Photos: Hktopten, Asian Film Awards

Join in the talk